Of Mice and Men (and Me)

It’s been a while since I’ve updated this blog, but I’ve got plans…..

Plans to make some plans! Yes – it is time to get organised!  Time to get the whiteboard and pens out; the calendar – the full shebang.

The prompt for this sudden flurry of activity?  Several missed competitions and submission deadlines which have annoyed me more than I expected.  Submission windows that only come round once a year which means that I will have to click my heels for another eleven months before I get another opportunity.

DontPanicThe problem is that while I have checked for upcoming opportunities I have not been checking websites regularly enough.  The chances that have interested me have then sneaked in under the wire.

Well..no more.  I have set up reminders for at least two months before submission windows close.  Am I expecting raging success as a result? Truth be told, the answer to that is no, but there are benefits.  Competitions give me deadlines to work to and a framework for the coming year.  I am far more productive when I have defined goals.

On the whiteboard so far I have the following:

  • complete my piece for the anthology that my friends are compiling (the excellent group of people I met whilst at Lumb Bank at last year),
  • enter the Buxton Poetry competition (it would be rude not to as I live here),
  • complete five flash fiction pieces before the end of 2016,
  • finish my ghost story,
  • start my novel.

I am going public with the above because I know that I am far more likely to achieve my plans if you know about them, so thank you in advance for helping me.

I have already completed some short pieces this year, but cannot post them at the moment because of competition rules saying that entries must be unpublished (including on blogs), but watch this space and I will share in the future.

Robert Burns famously said, The best laid schemes of Mice and Men oft go awry.

Given the above just applies to rodents and men folk, does that mean I am exempt? A cheeky interpretation I know, but let’s see how I get on.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

