Inspiration has landed

Yesterday I returned from West Yorkshire and my course at Arvon’s, Lumb Bank.  It was one of the most exciting and challenging weeks I have ever had.  I met 17 other writers, among them my tutors, Emma Jane Unsworth and Stephen May who were incredibly generous with their encouragement; advice and wit.

It was a week of firsts including reading my work aloud to an audience – something I had not thought possible before.  I was forced to work at speed with timed exercises.  Again I was a complete novice, but found the discipline freed me up and allowed me to produce some pieces that I plan on developing further.20150714_080423

I was also introduced to a quote by Ernest Hemmingway.

“The first draft of anything is shit.”

What a freeing statement, especially for a perfectionist like me.  I will be keeping this firmly in mind and on my pin board from now onwards.

More on Lumb Bank to come next time.

Leave a Reply

